URBAN AG ADVOCACY needs your support.

(Kansas City, MO - April, 2010)

Good friends, you may have heard about the work that is going on about updating Kansas City, MO city codes concerning urban food production. The current codes have some restrictions in them that work against the great benefits that urban food production has to offer, and so a group of community residents, farmers and gardeners have been working with the Kansas City Center for Urban Agriculture, the Greater Kansas City Food Policy Coalition, the City Planning Department and Councilman John Sharp (6th District to create proposed changes to the current codes.

On Thursday, April 8, Councilman Sharp introduced the resulting ordinance to City Council. Council members Bill Skaggs, Beth Gottstein, and Melba Curls and Mayor Mark Funkhouser are co-sponsors. You can find the full text of the ordinance at: http://cityclerk.kcmo.org/ (Legislation # 100299)


It will now go to the City Planning Commission, the Planning and Zoning Committee, and, sometime in late April, to the full council for a final vote.


I am asking for your support in getting this ordinance passed! There are several ways you can help:

1. Write a letter to your City Council Representatives and the Mayor to urge them to vote yes. I have attached a sample letter which you are welcome to use or revise as you wish.

Deb Hermann, 1st District At-Large, Deb_Hermann@KCMO.org

Bill Skaggs, 1st District, Bill_Skaggs@KCMO.org (express our gratitude for his co-sponsorship of the bill!)

Ed Ford, 2nd District At-Large, Ed_Ford@KCMO.org

Russ Johnson, 2nd District, Russ_Johnson@KCMO.org

Melba Curls, 3rd District At-Large, Melba_Curls@KCMO.org (express our gratitude for her co-sponsorship!)

Sharon Sanders-Brooks, 3rd District, Sharon_Brooks@KCMO.org

Beth Gottstein, 4th District, At-Large, Beth_Gottstein@KCMO.org(express our gratitude for her co-sponsorship!)

Jan Marcason, 4th District, Jan_Marcason@KCMO.org

Cindy Circo, 5th District At-Large, Cindy_Circo@KCMO.org

Terry Riley, 5th District, Terry_Riley@KCMO.org

Cathy Jolly, 6th District At-Large, Cathy_Jolly@KCMO.org

John Sharp, 6th District, John_Sharp@KCMO.org (THANK HIM FOR HIS LEADERSHIP ON THIS!)

Mayor Mark Funkhouser, mayor@KCMO.org (express our gratitude for his co-sponsorship and vision on this)

2. Send this information to anyone you know within KC city limits who you believe will support these revisions. Feel free to forward this email, or create your own with these attachments.

3. Get local groups of which you are a part (churches, neighborhoods, clubs, etc.) to speak to our council representatives in support of the revisions. Both our individual support as well as group support will be helpful tools in influencing our representatives. I or someone else from the planning group would be happy to come share with your group, or equip you to do so.

4. Attend the upcoming public hearings as a supporter:

  • City Council Business Session: Thursday, April 15, 2010, 1:30 p.m., 10th floor, City Hall
  • City Plan Commission: Tuesday, April 20, 2010, Exact time to be announced, but will be around 9:30 a.m, 26th floor, City Hall (Council Chambers)
  • Planning & Zoning Committee of the City Council: date to be announced (late April or early May)

I have attached a (linked) fact sheet on the proposed changes for your information, and, if you have any questions about this process or information, please let me know.


We appreciate your support in helping make Kansas City, MO a national leader in urban food production!


~~


content mirrored at:

http://www.KCFoodCircle.org/urban-ag-advocacy